science | design | engineering | common sense

the wanderer

leave a comment »

I learned this song as a kid and looked it up recently to refresh my memory. The song is called “The Happy Wanderer” and was originally written in German. The version I learned was a bit shorter and I have made a couple of changes so this matches what I remember more closely.

The Wanderer

I love to go a-wandering,
Along the mountain trail,
And as I go, I love to sing,
(with) My knapsack on my back.

Chorus:
Val-deri,Val-dera,
Val-deri,
Val-dera-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha
Val-deri, Val-dera.
My knapsack on my back.

I love to wander by the stream
That dances in the sun,
So joyously it calls to me,
“Come! Join my happy song!”

I wave my hat to all I meet,
And they wave back to me,
And blackbirds call so loud and sweet
From ev’ry green wood tree.

High overhead, the skylarks wing,
They never rest at home
But just like me, they love to sing,
As o’er the world we roam.

Oh, may I go a-wandering
Until the day I die!
Oh, may I always laugh and sing,
Beneath God’s clear blue sky!

Written by logand

October 2, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

